Ho-Chunk Nation Oath of Office Ceremony

By Ardith Van Riper

     Ho-Chunk Nation Election Board hosted an Oath of Office Ceremony on July 2, 2019, at Ho-Chunk Gaming - Wisconsin Dells for the newly elected officials.

     Master of Ceremonies was Matthew Mann.  A welcoming address was conducted by former Ho-Chunk Nation President Wilfrid Cleveland.

     Sanford WhiteEagle Post 556 and the Sanford WhiteEagle Auxiliary were present.

     A prayer was offered by Traditional Chief Clayton Winneshiek.

     An introduction of dignitaries included the Ho-Chunk Nation President, Legislators, Judiciary, Election Board, Bearheart Singers, and Wisconsin Dells Singers.

     Election Board Chairperson Libby Fairchild conducted the oath of office with each newly elected official and made mention that Supreme Court Chief Justice Todd R. Matha was sworn in via telephone.

     Newly elected officials included President Marlon WhiteEagle, District 1 Legislator George O. Stacy, District 2 Legislator Conroy Greendeer, District 3 Legislator Darren Brinegar, District 4 Legislator Paul J. Fox, Supreme Court Associate Justice 2 David J.W. Klauser, Trial Court Chief Judge JoDeen B. Lowe,  Trial Court Associate Judge 1 JoAnn Jones, and Trial Court Associate Judge 2 Mary Jo B. Hunter. 

     Each elected official was given an opportunity to speak after their oaths were taken.  Many tokens of appreciation were made.

     Honor songs were sung in celebration.  Family and friends joined in the dancing.