WhiteEagle declared president-elect; Stacy, Greendeer, Brinegar elected to Legislature

By Ken Luchterhand

The Ho-Chunk Nation Election Board certified the results of the June 4, 2019, General Election.
On Wednesday, June 5, the Election Board confirmed and counted valid absentee ballots before making a motion adding the numbers to the total vote count.
Marlon E. WhiteEagle was declared the next Ho-Chunk president, receiving 694 votes or 51.60 percent of the vote, while his opponent, Gregory S. Blackdeer, received 651 votes or 48.40 percent of the vote.
For the District 1 Seat 2 position, George O. Stacy was declared the victor, having received 310 votes or 70.29 percent of the vote. He defeated Carol Ann Garvin, who received 131 votes or 29.71 percent of the vote.
In the District 2 Seat 1 race, Conroy Greendeer garnered more votes than incumbent Kathy DeCamp. Greendeer recived 331 votes or 69.98 percent while DeCamp received 142 votes or 30.02 percent.
The District 3 Seat 3 race resulted with Darren Brinegar declared the winner with 169 votes or 52.16 percent. His challenger, Erik J. Lincoln, received 155 votes or 47.84 percent.
The swearing-in ceremony is planned for Wednesday, July 3.